Trinidad lies just off the coast of northeastern Venezuela and south of Grenada in the Lesser Antilles. It shares maritime boundaries with other nations including Barbados to the northeast, Guyana to the southeast, and Venezuela to the south and west. Trinidad is best known as the Land of Steel Pan, and people come from all over the world to experience Trinidad Carnival. Calypso music also known as ‘Kaiso’ (a shout of encouragement, bravo!) originated in Trinidad. The art form was developed during the 19th century in Trinidad’s Carnival. It combines the skills of story-telling, singing, social commentary and humour. The roots of the music lay in the arrival of African slaves to Trinidad, who were not allowed to speak to each other during work, so instead communicated through songs.

Trinidad is rich in cricket history and teams from Trinidad first played cricket from as early as 1869.

Trinidad has the region’s oldest cricket club, Queen’s Park Cricket Club, which was founded in 1891 and quickly became the leading cricket club in the country and remains so to the present day.

The Queen’s Park Oval (home to the Queen’s Park Cricket Club) saw its first Test Match on February 1st 1930 and it has grown into one of the premier international cricket venues in the region.

As one of the most popular sports in Trinidad, the country boasts such great players as Sir Learie Constantine, Sonny Ramadhin, Deryck Murray, Larry Gomes and Ian Bishop all of whom are known internationally and considered great West Indies players.

By far Trinidad’s most famous son is the great Brian Lara, known affectionately in Trinidad as the Prince of Port of Spain. As the holder of the world record for the highest test score (400 scored at the Antigua Recreation Ground), Lara is considered to be one of the greatest players ever to have graced the game.

Current players in the West Indies team from Trinidad include Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Ravi Rampaul and Denesh Ramdin to name a few.

  • CompetitionsCaribbean Premier League
  • Seasons2014, 2015, 2016, 2017